Maria Nordgren

in forming the clay…

I have worked in clay most of my life, had my initial training in Sweden in the early 70s, but it was only when we arrived in Scotland 11 years ago I could start to work with pottery full time.

Carved wood fired porcelain vase.jpg

I make mainly functional pots, all hand made in small series of unique pieces. My work is either thrown or hand built, in porcelain or stoneware and usually fired in an electric kiln. Some of my more recent work is fired in gas or wood fuelled kilns.

My main interest has always been in forming the clay and I still love to feel it take shape in my hands, changing from a solid, formless lump; seeing it gradually gaining structure, texture, function and character.

Carved clematis porcelain vase

For many years I have preferred the natural colours of clay, usually only glazing my pots on the inside for function and to create a lustrous contrast to the matt surface of the naked clay.

I have started to experiment with different firing techniques and I am especially fascinated by the glazes and textures made possible by reduction firing with gas and wood.

Photography by Shannon Tofts

Contact: 01828 632179

About inthegardenwithfriends

A mosaic artist located in Crieff
This entry was posted in Maria Nordgren and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

