Andy Claydon

Sylvan Wood Design

What can I say? I make things out of wood! Large or small, rough hewn or highly finished, functional or purely artistic, I make them. Based in the Ochil Hills just north of Kinross, my workshop is surrounded by woodland and the nature which inspires me.

 

Native timbers such as oak, ash, elm, yew, laburnum and fruit woods like cherry, apple and plum are my main medium though I do occasionally use non-native and sometimes unusual species. These have included beech, horse chestnut, larch and even the likes of gorse and rhododendron. All the wood I use comes from responsible sources, mainly dead and dying trees in the local area, or is reclaimed or re-purposed.

burry-elm-mirror

I try to keep design to a minimum in my work, preferring instead to let the nature of the wood speak for itself. This results in most of my work being waney edged, where rather than a machined surface there is simply the natural wood as it grew beneath the bark. The lines and forms I use are generally already there in the timber and require little manipulation. Where more influence is needed I draw inspiration from other natural forms, the simple and flowing curves present in Scandinavian design or the more intricate lines of Celtic art.

Website

Facebook

My Etsy shop

email: andy@sylvanwooddesign.com

phone: 07748 630010

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Elm and Reclaimed Pine Bed

About inthegardenwithfriends

A mosaic artist located in Crieff
This entry was posted in Andy Claydon, Furniture & Homewares and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

