Anna Olson

Ceramic Art and Jewellery

My varied ceramic work reflects my inquisitive nature and attention to detail. It is largely based on experimentation, whether in the layering of glazes, the play with form or the process of making.

 

Based in a shedio (shed studio) in my garden in Crieff, Perthshire I gain an enormous amount of inspiration from the landscape around me, as well as that of the West Coast and the ever-changing natural world beyond.

I strive to produce work that marries aesthetics and function and aim for dynamic and unique works of art.

Pieces are either wheel-thrown or hand-built and are fired in an electric kiln. I like working with different clays and the challenges and possibilities that brings. Lately I have been working in raku (the ancient Japanese glaze firing process), which is spontaneous and dramatic, often producing vibrant and unique effects.

photo

Most of my works are either one-off pieces or a limited run, where every piece is individually considered and carefully crafted.

Website

Facebook

Etsy Shop

 

About inthegardenwithfriends

A mosaic artist located in Crieff
This entry was posted in Anna Olson, Ceramic Art and Jewellery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

