Gail Stirling Robertson

“quirky, unusual and different”

From my earliest recollection, I was attracted to imaginative art.

A cousin introduced me to the work of Rodney Matthews when I was around five years old, and the feeling of escape those pictures induced has never left me.

thebirds_sm

The Birds

sunshineportnacraig_sm

Sunshine, Portnacraig

When I start a painting, the first stage is always a strong wash of colour over the whole canvas, setting the mood before the first sketch marks are even made. What follows depends on how I feel on a particular day…sometimes the manipulation of buildings will be slight and subtle, while on others, physics and structural law are thrown out of the window and imagination reigns.

summerbreezebf_sm

Summer Breeze

My paintings has been described as quirky or whimsical and in an art world that can be stuffy and snobbish, I think there is room for a lighter hearted approach. I would like to think my work makes the viewer smile.

kelvingrove_sm

Kelvingrove

drummondcastle_sm

Drummond Castle

botanics_sm

Botanics

 

Website

Facebook

 

About inthegardenwithfriends

A mosaic artist located in Crieff
This entry was posted in Gail Stirling Robertson, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

