Ann Smith

Inspired by the Countryside and Coastlines

I am a mixed media artist based in Langholm, Dumfriesshire. I mainly work in oils and wool felt, creating vibrant pieces of art work and wool felt crafts.

sunrays-over-perthshire-ann-smith

Sunrays over Perthshire

I studied at Heriot Watt University, Galashiels, graduating in 1992 with a Bsc. in Clothing Studies. I have worked in the clothing industry as a Designer and Technologist since then. In May, of last year, I decided to make the leap and commit to my Art work full time. Thus allowing me the time to experiment, explore and develop as an Artist.

I am inspired by the countryside and coastlines in my native Perthshire and Angus as well as those in Dumfries and Galloway and further afield. My camera is always close to hand whilst I continually look for inspiration in the great outdoors or whether it be colour, structure, or texture. I am fascinated with skies and water. Skylines set the scene for the day; they create the mood and are continually changing. The colour, the light and the movement can be captivating. It has the power to set the scene of every moment of everyday, altering our mood and emotions. I try to capture this in my work by using a rich colour palette and lots of texture.

poppies-standing-tall-ann-smith

Poppies Standing Tall

poppies-entwined-vase-ann-smith

Poppies Entwined

My paintings inspire my wool felt creations. I use wool fibres such as merino, silk, wool/silk nepps and locks to create texture and interest. My wool ‘paintings’ are created by layering up fine wisps of wool fibres in to the desired design. Silks, nepps and locks are added to create texture and depth in the wool painting. Each piece is then wet felted to create the fabric. I then needle felt the detail onto the ‘painting’ by using very small amounts of fibre and a barbed felting needle. To further enhance the piece, hand or machine embroidery stitching is sometimes added to create further surface interest and texture. My wool felt pieces are a happy combination of my love of painting and years spent working with textiles and colour.

calm_waters_kippford-2

Calm Waters, Kippford

Since 2010, I have exhibited work in Kirriemuir, Kirkcudbright, Langholm, Sanquhar, Crieff, Carlisle, Hawick and Forfar.

Website

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter

Email: brush-stroke-art@hotmail.com

Telephone: 07851701357

 

ann_smith_hi_res-10

Ann Smith, at work

 

About inthegardenwithfriends

A mosaic artist located in Crieff
This entry was posted in Ann Smith, Oil & Felt Paintings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

